Share post:

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) got their first IPL win of 2023 (CSK vs LSG) on Monday, April 3. The match was organized at the MA Chidambaram Stadium. Chennai Super Kings defeated Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) by 12 runs to improve their position at the points table.


  • LSG led KL Rahul won the toss and KL decided to bowl first in their first match of the 2023 season with CSK. The decision did not work in their favor at all. Chennai’s openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway held a magnificent opening stand of 110 runs in just 9.1 overs.
  • Gaikwad top-scored for Chennai Super Kings with a 31 ball 57 run score. Conway scored 47 runs from 29 balls handed to him. Later Shivam Dube, Ambati Rayudu and even MS Dhoni contributed with some of the runs to guide their team to a score of 217/7 in 20 overs.
  • Ravi Bishnoi became the best bowler for the Lucknow Super Giants. Ravi took three wickets and gave only 28 runs in the four-overs given to him in an innings where the run rate was around 11.
  • Chasing 218 to win their second match in IPL 2023, the Lucknow Super Giants scored was fast enough in the powerplay overs. LSG scored about 50 runs in just 3.4 overs. Both Kyle Mayers and KL Rahul dealt the balls in boundaries. The run rate slowed down slightly after the powerplay overs.
  • MS Dhoni then called Moeen Ali into the attack and this all-rounder took a total of four wickets in his four overs. LSG was not able to make a comeback in the match and after that and finished match with 205/7. They lost the game by 12 runs straight.
  • It was a great and thrilling match for fans in Chennai.
  • Here’s a list of the records that were broken during the CSK vs LSG match on April 3:

1. Kyle Mayers created a different and unique record in IPL history

Kyle Mayers made his debut for the Lucknow Super Giants in this season only as an opener against the Delhi Capitals. He scored a half-century in the game against DC and continued it up with another half century against the Chennai Super Kings last night.

Just because of his two half-centuries, Kyle has become the first ever player in IPL history to score 50+ runs in the first two innings of his IPL career. Paul Collingwood and Devdutt Padikkal scored the same in three innings of IPL, but Mayers achieved so in just two of his innings.

2. Devon Conway and Ruturaj Gaikwad destroyed Dinesh Karthik and Rajat Patidar’s record

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway played an important role in CSK’s win against competitors LSG by adding 110 runs in their stand for the first wicket. They registered a new record for the highest partnership stand in the IPL matches against their opponents Lucknow Super Giants.

Earlier, RCB players Dinesh Karthik and Rajat Patidar held this record for the highest partnership against LSG only. During last year’s IPL 2022 Eliminator round match held at Eden Gardens, Dinesh and Rajat gave an unbeaten partnership of 92 runs for their fifth wicket.

3. Lucknow Super Giants broke Punjab Kings’ runs conceding record in IPL 2023

Deepak Chahar made his IPL debut in the year 2017. Before this match against LSG, Chahar played 63 IPL matches and never gave 50+ runs in a match. Even his worst bowling count were 0/48 against Punjab Kings in the year 2021.

Playing against the LSG yesterday, Chahar went for conceding 55 runs in his four overs. Therefore, LSG broke PBKS’ record for scoring the highest runs from Chahar’s bowling in a single match of IPL.

S Sreesanth on Ruturaj Gaikwad

Former Indian team cricketer was very impressed with the performance of Ruturaj Gaikwad. This young CSK batter hit consecutive half centuries in the first two matches of this IPL. Sreesanth says that Ruturaj is improving as a cricketer and can be a good captain in the coming future.

Gaikwad is leading the IPL 2023 batting charts with his twin fifties in the first two IPL 2023 matches. After scoring 92 runs against GT in the season opening match, Ruturaj scored 57 runs off 31 balls in a winning match against LSG. Ruturaj simply continued where he left off against Gujarat based franchise in the previous match. In the match against LSG he played some brilliant strokes.

Playing XI of CSK in CSK vs LSG:

Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Mitchell Santner, Shivam Dube, Deepak Chahar and RS Hangargekar

Playing XI of LSG in CSK vs LSG:

Ayush Badoni, Jaydev Unadkat, Daniel Sams, Prerak Mankad, Amit Mishra, Swapnil Singh, Naveen-ul-Haq, Romario Shepherd, Karan Sharma, Yudhvir Singh Charak, Mayank Yadav and Manan Vohra

ALSO READ: https://sportsintell.com/csk-vs-gt-gt-won/


  • Aastha

    Aastha is a news buff who likes to engage with the world with her writings! When not writing she's baking love with cakes 🙂

Aastha is a news buff who likes to engage with the world with her writings! When not writing she's baking love with cakes :)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Related articles


The 16th edition of the IPL 2023 is having its closing ceremony on 28th May 2023 after the...


The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) had a deserved win over the Mumbai Indians (MI) in the 49th match...

GT vs MI: Gujarat Titans won by 55 runs

Team Gujarat Titans (GT) won the match against Mumbai Indians (MI) by 55 runs in a GT vs...


Rajasthan Royals and Lucknow Super Giants faced each other in a LSG vs RR match in the 26th...